Virginia politics, policy and entertainment from the Greater Richmond-Washington Metro Area perspective.

Dear Family Foundation: What were you thinking?

This morning I was forwarded an email from the Family Foundation on the Newman/Cuccinelli tax hike. The FF called it “a very positive development…without increasing the tax burden on Virginia families.” My first reaction was to assume my iPhone was quantum entangled with the alternate universe.

Once I reassured myself that my life had not veered into a Fringe episode, I marveled at the ignorance of FF. For the uninitiated, the Newman plan does increase the tax burden on Virginians, both on gas and on internet sales (assuming Congress goes along). There is simply no way anyone can claim otherwise.

I don’t know how many Republicans may have been (or still are being) led astray by FF’s remarkable mistake, but I can only hope they’re reading this and can now right themselves.

As for FF, while I appreciate their venturing into economics, I have to call them out when they it so wrong.

Cross-posted to the right-wing liberal

5 Responses to “Dear Family Foundation: What were you thinking?”

  1. danielrdavies

    If the Governor made a deal with Saslaw (dropping Senate redistricting) so his transportation plan is going to pass, Newman and Cuccinelli were just trying to get the best deal they could for taxpayers. The Newman plan was a better alternative to the original bill. It would return transportation funding to a user-pays scenario taxing gas consumption rather than clothing and everything else a person purchases. That’s better economics, more reliable transportation funding, and was less of a tax increase than McDonnell’s. Perfect, no, but if you try and get perfect legislation out of Richmond, you’ll die trying.

    • D.J. McGuire

      “Less of a tax increase than McDonnell’s” – I appreciate the honesty, but I can’t stomach the weakness and, I must say, cowardice…

      If the Republicans we send to Richmond are so timid that they believe funding transportation without hitting up the taxpayer is unattainable, then we need to replace them. All of them.

      No deal is better than a bad deal.

  2. Lovettsville Lady

    There was no good reason for Ken Cuccinelli to attach his name to ANY tax increase. HUGE mistake.

  3. yikes

    I guess I for one am tired of the Family Foundation weighing in on issues outside of its understanding and comprehension — the selection of judges too comes to mind.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers

