Stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before…

Gene Hackman in the 1987 film “No Way Out” from the scene where he hangs his aide out to dry for something he (Hackman) did:

“Scott has been a loyal and valuable friend.  I let that friendship cloud my judgement.  My actions have been inexcusable.

“Scott. Give me the gun.

“This is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do, but I swear I’ll do everything I can to help you out. Everything. I’ll get you the best lawyers.”

Jim Webb today:

“I want to emphasize, first of all, that Phillip Thompson is a long-time friend. He’s a fine individual. … I have a tremendous amount of respect for him. I think this is one of those very unfortunate situations where, completely inadvertently, he took the weapon into the Senate yesterday.”

Asked what support the senator was giving to his aide, Webb told FOX News, “We’re doing all we can.”

Things didn’t end so well for Hackman’s character in that movie. In fact, Kevin Costner’s character wound up sending the evidence against Hackman to none other than… Fred Thompson.

4 thoughts on “Stop me if you think you’ve heard this one before…

  1. It is interesting, as reported on other blogs, that Thompson hired(had hired for him) Richard Gardiner, a former Asssistant General counsel for NRA. Gardiner is a staunch, very conservative Republican. Guess they wanted the bestess with the mostess!

  2. I wonder if Phillip Thompson will throw himself on his sword for Senator Filthy Ginger or if his lawyer might be tempted to convince him to give the portly, rage-fueled, pulp fiction writing Senator over to the US Attorneys. And while every time I see Webb on television, I am somewhat embarrassed for my adopted state, it will be hillarious to watch this whole sorry fiasco play out.

Comments are closed.