Breaking News: Virginia YR Chairman John Scott Announces Candidacy for National Young Republicans Chairman

 

 

 

1654245_10152801195511197_5145077560438619711_n

YRFV Chairman John Scott announced this morning his intentions to run for nationwide chair. This opens up the door for others to run for Chair at the YRfv State convention this year, the rumored front runner being first Vice Chair Dan Webb of Roanoke.

Here is John’s press release :

 

 

Friends,

 

Since 2012, I have had the honor of serving as Virginia’s Young Republican Chairman, and more recently, as the National Federation’s Southern Regional Vice Chairman. I’m incredibly proud of my team’s record of recruiting new activists, forming new clubs, growing existing infrastructure, and helping good Republicans get elected.

 

But I’ll be honest, it’s not enough.

 

When President Obama wins the youth vote in 2012 by a whopping 37 percent, it doesn’t matter how many years I’ve served. I’ve often wondered, will this country ever elect another Republican as President? That feeling hurts, and I know it eats away at you, too.

 

But as bad as it hurts, I’m not ready to give up.

 

It will take grit and hard work to claw our way back into the White House. And, for me, it starts right here with doing our part and picking up several points in the youth vote.

 

With the right vision, it can be done.

 

I have a vision of YRs coordinating messaging with fellow Republican and youth-oriented organizations to make the case to win the hearts and minds of young professionals across the United States. I have a vision of YRs collecting the resources necessary to be the on-call, go-to when a candidate needs an influx of bodies to knock tens of thousands of doors and prevail.

 

And finally, I have a vision of our organization thriving in all 50 states by YRs strengthening their existing Federations and clubs and establishing structure in the remaining ones. We will carry out this vision, and in time, marry the results to the youth coalition of the eventual Republican nominee. From there, we will work together to increase the youth vote and win back the White House.

 

This vision is why I am announcing my candidacy for Chairman of the Young Republican National Federation.

 

For several months now, I have spoken with fellow YRs from across the US who believe in that vision. And thus, we have formed YRLead. YRLead is a team of individuals that intend to carry out this vision and lead YRNF to greatness. I am humbled and excited that there are folks who share my vision and are up for the challenge to prevail in 2016.

 

I am confident that this campaign of vision and people will prevail. We will continue to work tirelessly and hope you will support us financially to send an army of delegates to Chicago this summer to win.

 

Please donate $5, $10, $25, $50, or $100 to help delegate turnout and ensure victory!

 

Finally, below are links to our Facebook and Twitter. Stay tuned for the release of our platform, fellow team members, and endorsements.

 

Thanks so much for your support.

 

Sincerely,

John Scott