Follow-up On Slating… And A Word About The Sully Mess

A little over a week ago, I wrote here about the slating affair of last year and what its lasting consequences have been, are, and should be. A few days later, I got an email from Delegate Jimmie Massie (R-72nd) expressing his concerns that he was being unfairly named as one of the slaters. He copied the illustrious T. Boulden on it, asking me to retract that part of my post. So I again reached out to some Henrico activist folks I know that were at the Henrico mass meeting. What I got back was interesting.

Delegate John O’Bannon (R-73rd) actually taunted someone before the meeting, sticking his finger in the guy’s face, saying “When your side starts winning elections, then we can sit down and talk.”

Whoops. How’d that work out for you? See you in 2017.

Both O’Bannon and Linwood Cobb clearly were in on the slating, and Janis was seen whispering with Cobb at the back of the room. And… “Massie addressed the audience before the voting began to prepare our side for losing. He said we had to ‘leave there and stay friends after the vote.’ After the vote, I went up to Jimmie and asked him if we were still friends?”

Also, these letters went out shortly before the Henrico County mass meeting (editorializing and highlighting not mine, this is the state in which I got them):

O'Bannon-MassieHenricoLetters

Remarkably like some emails that went out in Hampton Roads before the meetings down there, which were courtesy of Ray Allen and the YG Virginia crowd, aren’t they? Bearing in mind as well that O’Bannon was obviously involved in the planning and execution of the Henrico slating effort, it certainly doesn’t look good to be coordinating with him.

To sum up, I stand by my previous post.

Moving on to the Sully Supervisor primary, I just want to state that while I’m personally a firm supporter of John Guevara in that race, the attack on Brian Schoeneman yesterday was ridiculous. He went to his personal network, as every smart candidate does, to raise money. Not a thing wrong with that.