Op-Ed “I’m Tim Ciampaglio and I’m running for Delegate”

 

1654245_10152801195511197_5145077560438619711_n

 

My campaign for the House of Delegates begins each morning at 5:00AM with a bunch of slugs. No, not the garden variety, but the hard-working residents of Stafford County who silently line up in the pre-dawn hours to commute with strangers in the hopes of beating traffic. My campaign will give a voice to those silent slugs.

I’m Tim Ciampaglio and I’m seeking the Republican nomination for the Second District of the Virginia House of Delegates. My op-ed will discuss what I will do as your Delegate and how I will distinguish myself from my opponent. I plan to do that by discussing two large spending projects and compare how my opponent mishandled one (transportation), and how I will deliver superior results on the other (Veterans’ health care). The message you’ll receive is that when it comes to efficient government, I’m the only candidate that has delivered on it, and the only one that has a specific plan to keep delivering it to the residents of Stafford and Prince William Counties.

Back to the slugs. I campaign with the slugs because I respect them. They live in Stafford County so they can give their families the fullest of what life has to offer. They have made the decision to miss breakfast with their children, to quietly ride for an hour or more with total strangers to put in a full day of work, just to give their families the best life they can afford. I campaign with the slugs because these are my kind of people; the people that get up at ridiculous hours of the morning to put their families first. I have said on the campaign trail that no elected official will work harder for you than I will, and I’m proving that because I campaign with them at 5:00 in the morning, and then I go to work. In the quiet of the morning, that message is being received loud and clear.

I campaign with the slugs because the slugs are the people that were misled by my opponent when he voted for the transportation tax, and they are the people he’s trying to mislead in this campaign. Both of us will campaign on making Virginia government leaner and delivering more effective results. I’ve done it. He did the opposite. And the slugs know that.

This is what it means to be a fiscal conservative. A fiscal conservative sets the lowest tax rate possible to bring in the revenue that is necessary to provide the core services of the government to the taxpayer, in a way that delivers the quality of service the taxpayer expects, and without wasting any of the tax revenue (at peak efficiency). A fiscal conservative prioritizes the goals of the spending, prioritizes the manner in which your tax money is spent, and prioritizes them publicly so the taxpayer knows that their money taken for a project is spent on that specific project, rather than being reshuffled to other spending programs like a New York City street card game. So, my conservative taxation priorities are: 1) set the lowest tax rates possible, 2) provide the core services, 3) at the highest quality service levels, and 4) without wasting any taxpayer money (peak operational efficiency).

Back to the slugs. When I talk to the slugs, I learn a lot about transportation in Northern Virginia. I also learn a lot about my opponent. Some of those slugs are funny. They’ve referred to my opponent as Mark “Duden-hiker” because he hiked taxes on them to make transportation better, and yet they’re still in the slug line. One of them must be a “CSI” fan because he kept assuring me that “he won’t be fooled again” by my opponent. But mostly I learn just how badly my opponent botched transportation.

When he voted for the transportation tax, he raised six separate taxes on my constituents: the state sales tax on Stafford, the regional sales tax on Prince William, the regional property transfer tax on Prince William, the Northern Virginia hotel tax on our business owners, an alternative fuel vehicle tax for hybrid owners, and a car tax on car sales. Six taxes raised on Northern Virginians, and yet still they line up in the early hours of the morning.

The transportation tax imposed on Northern Virginia was marketed as being very important to Northern Virginia because…Hampton Roads needed a new Route 460! So my opponent took my Stafford slugs’ money and he appropriated it to Hampton Roads. And the state spent two years developing the Route 460 project and spent a whopping $290 million on it. That’s right…$290 million! But before you think about taking a trip to Hampton Roads to see what $290 million bought you, I’ll save you the time. The company never put the first shovel into the ground. Not one inch of road was laid out. The first project from my opponent’s transportation tax vote wasted all $290 million of your money. Every single penny. The state canceled the project on this April 15.

Now it’s my turn to show you why I’ll deliver on a big project. I’m a business owner. I do strategic planning, and when federal government agencies really lose their way, I get called in to turn them around. My most recent project was strategic planning for the Veterans Health Administration (VHA). I was hired to revise their strategic plan at the same time details leaked out about just how poorly they delivered health care to Veterans. If there is anything I know better than health care to Veterans, and as a retired Coast Guard Officer that does have particular importance to me, it’s how to deliver services and results to taxpayers, especially our Veterans who served us and now need us to serve them.

At the same time the state canceled the 460 project, they voted to provide an initial $65 million for construction of two Veterans Health Administration facilities in Virginia, one of which will be in Prince William County. It’s very unusual for the state to pay for a federal facility, but Virginia has a large share of Veterans and is at the very bottom of rankings for VHA facilities per Veteran, so Virginia’s contribution fast tracks the projects. Now that the money has been appropriated, our focus, my focus, will be on making sure your taxpayer money is spent well to provide top level health care for our Veterans.

There are three goals of VHA care: first, provide Veterans with personalized, proactive, patient-driven health care; second, achieve measurable improvements in health outcomes; and third, align resources to deliver sustained value to Veterans. The expertise comes in developing the return on investment metrics to make sure that what went wrong in the VHA does not happen here. It can’t. As your next Delegate, I won’t allow it to happen. I won’t allow it to happen because I am the lead subject matter expert for the VHA on developing these metrics. When I am your Delegate, the Virginia-funded VHA facilities will be designed to meet these returns from the beginning. We will not waste one cent chasing goals that have not been clearly defined before the first dollar is spent. Our Veterans capably served us. As your delegate, I will make sure that the money Virginia has put into construction for the facility will lead to the care the Veterans deserve.

I have helped the VHA work towards peak efficiency (eliminate wasteful spending) through project prioritization and strategic planning. I will proactively prevent waste in the Virginia government, and not just on this health facility, but with transportation as well. I will be an advocate for putting a lockbox around our transportation funds. I will prioritize the projects, and make sure the public knows the priority list. I will make sure I track spending on transportation. I owe that to my family. I owe that to your family. I owe that to my friends in the slug line.

Even in the dark of the morning, the slugs are still able to see $290 million of their transportation tax dollars completely and totally wasted by the Virginia government. And as they said, they will not be fooled again.

 

Timothy Ciampaglio is a candidate for the Republican Nomination in Virginia’s 2nd Delegate District


11 thoughts on “Op-Ed “I’m Tim Ciampaglio and I’m running for Delegate”

  1. Tim, are you really the only one with a government efficient plan? or are you just copying what Mark says? You might want to do some more reading before saying your the only one with a plan. Your website has no plan on it, just popular conservative talking points.

    1. @ Tim Manning, Can you send me web locations that I can find your thoughts on comparing these plans. The whole thing is very confusing and I would like to find some better information. Or can you just tell me what the differences are between these two guys? – Thanks

  2. Your attacking a guy who wasn’t even in office for when those contracts were cancelled. You should be mad at Delegate Futrell, not mark. Mark has secured millions of dollars of funding for this region and after he lost Futrell failed to fight for it. You’re attacking the wrong guy- get your facts right. If you can’t even get a simple op-ed with the correct facts, how do you expect to represent us?

    1. I am a veteran and so is Colonel Mark Dudenhefer (ret). You give Mr. Futrell a title you seem to not respect but you are on a first name basis with Col. Dudenhefer? Even if he is your cousin, I would expect you to have a little more respect for a veteran that is continuing to serve. I am trying to learn more about the position of these two men but your lack of respect is rather defining that you really do not respect our veterans. You obviously never served because a veteran would never call a former Marine Corps Colonel, “mark”. So what is the deal “john”? Are you just another hater of vets or can you manage to pull head out of your fourth point of contact and offer some real information about your buddy “mark”

  3. Wow- Tim, who is running your campaign? This is filled with false facts and distortions. I’m all about a primary to see who the better candidate is….but as a first time candidate you need to be factual. Rough start out of the gate.

    1. – Brain – you seem to have some details about these two veterans. What is the deal. All I see on these post is useless flaming. Can you please help me out with the key differences are between the candidates? Thanks –

  4. This is laughable. Tim I apologize you seem like a nice guy but Mark proposed a real plan on this website a couple days ago. Also, as a newcomer you might want to double check your facts.

  5. Tim: Not to beat a dead horse but this post is full of factual errors. Where shall we begin:

    1.) Route 460 was well underway at the time of the 2013 Transportation bill. The revenue from that legislation had no impact on Route 460 and more importantly that project was a priority of the previous Administration. I never heard anyone in the General Assembly talking about Route 460 but I will make the point that other areas of the state have transportation needs as well. More importantly, the regional “tax increases” as you call them would not have funded Route 460 as any state revenue would have been from state coffers;

    2.) As I noted before, HB 2313 diverted the regional taxes into the regional fund managed by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority. A portion of those local taxes also go back to the localities to fund jurisdiction-specific projects while the rest of the revenue is to be used for projects of a regional priority. On Thursday, the NVTA approved $345 million in new projects aimed at reducing congestion….Before I go on I should note that those projects were evaluated through a formula to ensure that they meet the criteria outlined in HB599 for reducing congestion.

    3.) The $65 million for the VA Facility is to supplement federal funds. No doubt it is an important project but this is still going to the VA’s show…I highly doubt a freshman Republican delegate is going to be able to influence the process too much.

    Again, echoing the comments made above, it is great that you are running but run a clean, honest campaign that is based in facts and data. This post looks like a Stimpson/Radtke rant. As Virginians proved in June 2012 and will again prove in June 2015: They expect better.

Comments are closed.