Tim Ciampaglio releases his Transportation plan

Friends, 

As I post this I think it is important that everyone understand that the race in the 2nd Delegate District has become heated and more interesting than I must admit  than I thought it would be. In saying that I get a mountain pile of information from both camps, and I have been trying to be as fair as possible. I have yet to decide to endorse, or support either of the two great candidates, this is also my district, so I have been paying very close  attention to things. When that decision is made it will be made with all the information and all the actions taken in consideration. – Terrence 

With that being said:

 

Tim Ciampaglio’s Transportation plan

During my campaign for the House of Delegates I have talked to thousands of voters. In every conversation I ask each voter what issues matter most to them, and after two months on the trail it has become abundantly clear that transportation is one of the top issues for the majority of my future constituents. Many still express frustration at the passage of the transportation tax. Many are upset that the first project scheduled in anticipation of the tax hike was shelved at a total loss of $290 million to taxpayers. But most want an assurance that when I am their Delegate that they will get the roads for which they have been paying through higher taxes. Today, with the release of my transportation plan, I can give you that assurance. When I am elected as your next Delegate, Stafford and Prince William County residents will get the roads they need so their residents can get to and from work faster, in time to get to their children’s activities, so they can grow their businesses, and have a better quality of life.

Earlier in the campaign I released my Peak Efficiency Plan, which drew on my expertise as a strategic planner and corporate efficiency expert to get more service from the Virginia government for your tax dollar. The Secretary of Transportation released a transportation-specific plan that very closely matches my process for these other agencies, and this is why I am completely confident that I will help secure the transportation projects that get Stafford and Prince William the roads we need at a cost that the taxpayer can afford, on time, and in the right priority.

What follows is a simplified (for length) explanation of how the HB2 plan works, what I will add to it, and what it means for road projects.

How it works

My peak efficiency plan and HB2 have a lot in common, but the most important commonality is the focus on prioritization tools to assess which projects are needed first. The HB2 prioritization tool is really a scorecard with different factors, and different weights given to each factor, to develop a score. The higher the score, the higher the priority. House District 2 fits within the Northern Virginia and Fredericksburg regions, and the top scoring priority for our region is congestion mitigation. (You’ll have plenty of time to think about why this makes sense in traffic on Tuesday morning!) Transportation projects are submitted through the collaboration of parties, or stakeholders. Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs), Planning District Commissions (PDCs), and the counties work up transportation project plans that get submitted to the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB). The CTB then assesses the details of the plan against the scorecard developed in HB2. Factors include safety, congestion mitigation, land use, and more. The CTB also looks at funding sources for the project. It’s a comprehensive view of the totality of the projects proposed, so they can be measured against each other, and given regional priorities. And that is where I come in.

What I will add

On the night of my campaign kickoff, I signed a pledge that I will not raise taxes. Before anything else, I want to make sure that the CTB funds projects based on revenue they already have before the Commonwealth dips back into your pocket for more. Fortunately, prioritization tools will help them get that right. I like their plan, but I want to enhance it, for them and for you, the taxpayer.

I want to add the graphical interface measures that reflect the performance scoring. These easy to use, easy to understand dashboard metrics will help CTB more fully understand their scoring system and give them better views of their decision-making process. More importantly, these tools can be publicly-available, and can be used by taxpayers in a number of ways. You’ll be able to see where your tax money is going, be able to understand projects better, and speak in favor (or against) projects at town hall meetings. When projects are undertaken, you’ll be able to measure their progress, both from a project completion and financial impact perspective.

Why we will get the projects

I am a small business owner, and my business develops strategic plans and streamlines spending efficiency. I am very familiar with plans like HB2 and the metrics I discussed above. I not only use them in my work, I develop them. This matters for you, as a district resident, because I will be able to work with the Stafford and Prince William Boards of Supervisors, with business leaders, and regional planning authorities to enhance the details of proposed transportation plans. We will be able to go through the scoring metrics and enhance the development of projects so they are more responsive to the HB2 criteria. I will work with your other elected and appointed representatives to make sure that their proposed projects get the most from the CTB scoring process. As your next Delegate, I owe it to you to make sure that your tax dollars are being well-spent so that your quality of life improves. The only reason to serve is to serve you.

Conclusion

The Secretary of Transportation has the right ideas for improving transportation infrastructure in Virginia. We cannot afford any more wasted projects, and you deserve the roads you’ve paid for. I want to be value-added to the project. I want to make sure that the CTB has the best tools to enhance their already-solid transportation plan. I want the public to be able to see these tools so they know how their tax dollars are being spent. I want local officials and representatives to have more insight into the process so they can do their jobs better. Because, in the end, when we work together, within a transparent system that everyone understands, we all do better.

10995376_1073953452618187_6288741536086327472_n