The NOVA Battle Flag : by Terrence J Boulden

2D

 

As of late America has been going through a transition of social change, no one can deny it. The thing that obviously affects me is race relations and how people are reacting to it.

The outrage of the week is the Northern Virginia battle flag, otherwise known as The Confederate Flag. I of course have been asked by my conservative friends how I feel about the flag, clearly some were looking for a pass to praise the flag, and some were looking for someone else to spit on it. My answer is it’s a battle flag, and if a group or individual want to make it represent something more than that, that burden is on them..

It is important that some understand that the flag is a symbol of race in the south. Slavery, oppression, segregation, and police brutality. Why? Because that was black experience in the south. The flag is also seen by others as simply a representation of southern heritage. Southern people are prideful and use the flag as a representation of that pride and of the south. The debate that has erupted has done so not because one side is wrong, but because one side does not understand the others point of view, which of course is nothing new for the United States.

It all comes back however to one simple fact, it’s a flag and how you use that flag is what matters. I personally have two flags in my room, the American Flag and the French Republic Flag. Why do I have the French flag in my room? I appreciate French history, art, and literature, and it’s a bad ass flag. I would ask that we as Americans don’t be so quick to assume what something symbolizes, as it can represent different things to different people.

I’ll give you one more example in closing, a few years ago at the annual Shad Planking off in the distance I saw the hugest Confederate flag I had ever seen blowing in the wind. My curiosity drew me to it, not to cause trouble or to yell at the owners but out of mere curiosity of what else was there. When I got there, there were two older white gentlemen drinking beers and hanging out, no one else had come to them and I think the big flag had something to do with it. I introduced myself and shook their hands and they introduced themselves in kind, I asked what’s up with the big Confederate flag, and they explained they were members of the “Sons of the Confederacy”, we spoke for an hour or so about their organization and even spoke how they had many black members who were active and contributed.

These were two of the nicest guys I met that day and we had a great conversation, and I am grateful that day that I was not scared off by a flag. So I ask that when you take to social media and mock those who may be offended or mock those who are offended that others may be offended, take into account different experiences and different feeling, but all in all remember that it’s a flag.

tb


3 thoughts on “The NOVA Battle Flag : by Terrence J Boulden

  1. A French flag? Now we are ALL offended.

    Well thought out and written essay, Terrence.

    Guns, flags and hate are all tools. We are witnessing rainbow flags as the battle flag for those who harbor a deep seated prejudice and hatred of America and Americans , and the intent is clearly not only a naked display of anger, but threatening, backed up by pushes to eliminate a lot more than a flag, and anyone who stands in their way.

    If I were a Native American who was easily offended by symbols, I would be much more offended by the United States flag than by a football team. As someone of Irish heritage, should I insist upon the removal of Oliver Cromwell’s flag from the British Empire?

    It’s unfortunate that those who cry out for moderation never seem to really want moderation at all. Only domination. The only flag these militant and hateful minorities want the mainstream to fly is the white flag of surrender. Indeed, it might be the only white thing that they wish to see at all.

    It will be interesting to see where the bullet lands now that the trigger has been pulled. When anything goes, usually everything goes.

  2. I wonder if they are going to discontinue the re-enactments at the Battlefield? I don’t like it when a historical place removes items of historical significance. Just my opinion.

  3. Re-enactments of Civil War battles from the 1800’s no longer have any significance.

    The only Civil War battles that matter are the ones the Republic lost during the last 50 years, all on the same battle field – the Supreme Court, which has not relegated itself into insignificance. The Constitution has been abolished and the Republic is dead.

    Perhaps we are the zombies, the walking dead, of which we have heard so much?

Comments are closed.